A year ago, I decided to listen to two albums a day. We live in a world that streams a never-ending torrent of music. I need to parameters to listen to music. Curated playlists and AI-generated playlists like Spotify’s Discover Weekly are a blessing. Still, I yearned to recapture the experience of being immersed in a musician or band for the length of an album.

I began keeping a list of albums I’ve always wanted to listen to, albums recommended by the various music blogs I follow, and albums friends tell me to listen to. Nerd that I am, I keep the ever-growing list in Drafts and have a randomizer function that shuffles the list. I always wonder what I’m going to listen to day to day. It would not be incongruous to hear a death metal album back to back with a country pop album.

I enjoy the experience. I’ve listened to some mind-blowing albums that have become new favorites. And some of the albums were a chore to get through. Most albums are a collection of songs, and few are artistic statements.

Stream here if you want to listen to what I listen to each day.