Finished reading: Termination Shock by Neal Stephenson 📚 I have been reading Neal Stephenson for decades, and there’s a reason for that. I picked up The Big U at a bookstore when I moved to Boston in 1986. I recognized the city and the characters he was writing about. Zodiac, Snow Crash, The Diamond Age, and Cryptonomicon captured my imagination and impacted how I saw the world.

I’ve read every book he’s written, and I look forward to each new book by Stephenson, but I admit it took me a while to get into a groove reading Termination Shock. Stephenson always delivers an imaginative, information-dense story, but something with this book failed to land with me. I was entertained and engrossed, but less so than in previous books by Stephenson. And that’s okay. Not every book by him has to blow me away. I’ll still read his next book. Termination Shock is still much better than most science fiction I read.