I enjoyed Sandman. That’s saying something because I have an emotional connection to that comic book and that time in my life when it was published. I’m amazed that it exists at all. The fact that Sandman is gorgeous and has a fantastic cast is so much icing on the cake.

But I’m not in love with the series. In fact, despite the writing and the cast, the show felt a little flat. But I was entertained, and I would recommend it to anyone I think might appreciate Sandman.

It’s difficult for me to be objective about the series because of my relationship with the comic book. I might have been overwhelmed had I come to Sandman with zero knowledge of the source material. However, the fact that I didn’t hate the Sandman series or cringe at any point says a lot about the show.

Bonus: I got to see my penultimate issues of Sandman on the screen. What a time to be alive.