How did Instapaper lead to learning about invasivorism, a possible solution to ethical eating?

Today on MB I came across a conversation regarding Instapaper, the read-it-later social bookmarking service. I was an Instapaper when it first launched but switched to Pocket because, for me, they provided an experience I found preferable to Instagram.

On a whim, I reinstalled Instagram. It’s a decent app, but it made me appreciate Pocket.

I jumped back to Pocket and came across a post from Longreads recommending five articles about food. I usually guiltily ignore Longreads because I don’t have the bandwidth to read the curated content they send my way. But today I’m home sick. Yep, I caught COVID. Nothing serious. I’m a little congested, and I’m tired. So today, I have time to indulge in reading about invasivorism.

It feels like a sci-fi concept: eat invasive species.

Garlic mustard is a quick-growing European weed pushing into the Vermont forest and lacing the soil with a chemical that prevents native plants from germinating. But it’s also delicious. Eat it.

European green crabs or periwinkle snails mucking up the ecosystem? Eat them.

We‘re on the very edge of when this idea takes off.

Joe Roman developed the concept of invasivorism 20 years ago and claims, “We‘re on the very edge of when this idea takes off.” He thoughtfully provides a website where he offers ways to serve up a dish of your local invasive species.

Nutria can devour Louisiana marshes and clear-cut them into mudflats. They also taste great with barbecue sauce.

I find the idea compelling. And maybe not just to keep an invasive e species at bay, but for our survival. Another idea floating around is the concept of the planet of weeds, developed by David Quammen. In short, we are in a mass extinction event that will be survived by the runtiest and weediest of flora and fauna. We may have no choice but to eat them.

Yeah, that’s where my mind went.

Can you blame me?

Many speculate that good coffee will become increasingly challenging to grow as temperatures rise. The same goes for wine. And salmon and other fish are plagued by fungus due to climate change. It’s been on my mind.

Is it so outrageous to think we might someday be industrial farming critters that are currently off the table?