I never use Facebook, Gmail, Apple, Amazon, etc., to log in to the services I use. I don’t want to rely on the Stacks, so I’ll use my email address and generate a password.

Except for that one time I used Facebook to create an account with Spotify, and now that decision is biting me in the ass.

I made the exception with Spotify because I wanted to use the music service’s social media features. There didn’t seem any harm in it, but Facebook locked me out of my account for no apparent reason a year or so ago. Maybe my cat photos were too controversial?

I admit to trying a few times without successfully reactivating my account, but I didn’t care enough to resolve the issue. It was a minor inconvenience, but I didn’t miss Facebook as long as I still had access to Instagram and Facebook Messenger. And as we’ve learned what a terrible, awful, horrible company Facebook is, I was grateful that I couldn’t access my Facebook account.

Until this morning, when I found, I could no longer use Spotify.

So now I’m jumping through various hoops to reactivate my Facebook account. And once I do, I’m going to jump through whatever hoops are necessary to decouple my Spotify account from Facebook.

Lesson learned.